Reintegrating multiple branches to trunk

I have some doubts about how to merge back to trunk the following case: I have a project branch that is already reintegrated in the trunk and another branch that started from the first one, the problem is how to reintegrate it to the trunk.

The following diagram explains the example.

The first branch (blue line) was merged back using this command in a trunk working copy:

svn merge --reintegrate branch1

Now I wanted to merge the second one (red) doing the same:

svn merge --reintegrate branch2

But it didn’t work as I expected, I had a conflict for every file modified in both branches. Finally it worked fine without reintegrate:

svn merge branch2

Anyway I don’t think this is the good way, does anyone know what I’m doing wrong?

2 thoughts on “Reintegrating multiple branches to trunk

Leave a Reply

